Writing in the Disciplines Distinguished Teaching Awards


Submit a 2023 nomination!


The University Writing Program honors faculty members and graduate teaching assistants each year who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and planning Writing in the Disciplines (WID) courses.

  • For faculty WID awards, faculty members may nominate themselves or another faculty member.
  • For graduate teaching assistant WID awards, nominations must come from the GA's program chair or director of graduate studies.

Each year the University Writing Program solicits nominations for:

  • Joseph P. Dymond WID Distinguished Teaching Award
  • Best Assignment Design Award
  • Distinguished Graduate Student Award

Please visit the WID Teaching Awards page for specific criteria for each award.


  • December 16, 2022Nomination forms for 2023 are due
  • February 3, 2023: Submission packages should be submitted electronically as a single PDF to [email protected] with subject “LastName FirstName - WID Award Application Packet [year].” Please name your PDF file using this standard as well.

The submission package should be a maximum of 40 pages, exclusive of nominee's CV; materials beyond the 40-page limit will not be considered. 

*Nomination materials will not be returned*

Please contact [email protected] with any questions.


2020-2022 Writing in the Disciplines Distinguished Teaching Award Winners Video


2019 Writing in the Disciplines Distinguished Teaching Award Winners Video

All previous Writing in the Dsiciplines Distinguished Teaching Award Winners